Calendar

Upcoming Events in 2018

January

Beginner’s Day
Saturday January 20, 10:00 am to 2:00 pm.
Includes Lunch.  $30
Register

February

Nirvana O-Sesshin
Led by Shunan Noritake Roshi
Hashinkyuji: Thursday, February 15 | Banka 4:00 p.m
Sesshin: February 16 (Fri) – 20 (Tues)
$450.00

Nirvana Ceremony
Wednesday, February 21 | 8:00 a.m.
Register

Saturday Sitting
Saturday, February 24
Zazen instruction 9:30 am
Zazen 10:00 am to 12:00 pm.
Tea and cookies afterward.

March

March Recorded Teisho Retreat

A 7 day retreat with Sasaki Roshi Teishos
Hashinkyuji: Saturday, March 3 | Banka 4pm
Retreat March 4 – 10
Fee $350

Please note we need 10 people to register in order to hold this event. 

Register

 

Easter Zazenkai
Friday March 30, 10:00 am through Sunday April 1st, 2:00 pm.
$150

 April

Volunteer Day
Satuday, April 21
Local Hike
Sunday, April 22

July

Zazenkai
Friday, July 6, 10:00 am through Sunday, July 8, 2:00pm
$150

 

Annual Memorial Service for Sasaki Roshi ?
Rinzai-ji 50th Anniversary
(At Rinzai-ji)
Pre-ceremony (Shukuki): Thursday, July 26 | 4:00 p.m.
Main Ceremony (Hansai): Friday, July 27 | 9:00 a.m.

Followed by a catered light lunch in the Rinzai-ji Zen Center Courtyard
Invitation for the 50th Anniversary will be sent out.

 

 

Ho-on O-Sesshin
Led by Shunan Noritake Roshi
(At Mt Baldy Zen Center)

Hashinkyuji: Friday, July 27 | Banka 4:00 p.m.
Sesshin: July 28 (Sat) – 1 (Wed)

 

 

November

Zazenkai
Friday, November 2, 10:00am through Sunday, November 4, 2:00pm

Rohatsu O-Sesshin
Led by Shunan Noritake Roshi

Hashinkyuji: Wednesday, November 15 | Banka 4pm
Sesshin: November 16 (Thursday) – 20 (Tuesday)

Jodo-e
Buddha’s Enlightenment Ceremony

Wednesday, November 21 | Time to be announced

 


Introduction to Zen at MBZC:
Discussion about Zen as taught at MBZC, camp tour, lunch and meditation instruction.

Beginner’s Days:
Detailed meditation instruction, meditation, lunch and dharma talk.

Zazenkai:
1 to 3 days of Zen practice.  Sitting and walking meditation, lunch and a dharma talk.

Sesshin:
A 5 to 7 day Zen intensive. Currently these are led by Shunan Noritake Roshi