Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Virtual Summer Sangha Seminar

June 19 @ 7:30 am - June 21 @ 2:00 pm

$150

Register for the Seminar

Mt. Baldy Zen Center
Virtual Summer Sangha Seminar
June 19-21, 2020

Day 1:

Opening Ceremony
7:45-8:15 AM PST (10:45-11:15 PM EST) (4:45-5:15 PM CET)

Break
8:15-8:30AM PST (11:15-11:30 PM EST) (5:15-5:30 PM EST)

Practice Session 1: Zazen and Kinhin
8:30-10:00 AM PST (11:30 AM-1:00 PM EST) (5:30-7:00 PM CET)

Break
10:00-11:00 AM PST (1:00-2:00 PM EST) (7:00-8:00 CET)

Study Session 1: Prof. Michel Mohr (About Tathāgata Zen – redux from Winter Sangha Seminar)
8:00-11:00 AM Honolulu Time = (11:00 AM-2:00 PM PST) (2:00-5:00 PM EST) (8:00-11:00 PM CET)
(Two 80-minutes Seminars; one 20-minute break)

Closing Ceremony (Heart Sutra + Dharani for Removing Disasters+4 Great Vows)

Day 2:

Opening Ceremony
5:00-5:30 AM PST (8:00-8:30 AM EST) (2:00-2:30 PM CET)

Break
5:30-5:45 AM PST (8:30-8:45 AM EST) (2:30-2:45 PM CET)

Practice Session 1: Zazen and Kinhin
5:45-7:00 AM (8:45-10:00 AM EST) (2:45-4:00 PM CET)

Break
7:00-8:00 AM PST (10:00-11:00 AM EST) (4:00-5:00 PM CET)

Study Session 1: Prof. Masaki Matsubara Ōsho (Hakuin)
8:00-9:10 AM PST (11 AM-12:10 PM EST) (5:00-6:10 PM CET)

Break
9:10-9:30 AM PST (12:10-12:30 PM EST) (6:10-6:30 PM CET)

Practice Session 2: Zazen and Kinhin
9:30-10:10 AM PST (12:30-1:10 PM EST) (6:30-7:10 PM CET)

Break
10:10-11:00 AM PST (1:10-2:00 PM EST) (7:10-8:00 PM CET)

Study Session 2: Prof. Michel Mohr (About Tathāgata Zen – reading and discussion)
11:00 AM-2:00 PM PST (2:00-5:00 PM EST) (8:00-11:00 PM CET)
(Two 80-minutes Seminars; one 20-minute break)

Break
2:00-3:00 PM PST (5:00-6:00 PM EST) (11:00 PM-12:00 AM CET)

Practice Session 3: Zazen and Kinhin (optional)
3:00-4:00 PM PST (6:00-7:00 PM EST) (12:00-1:00 AM CET)

Closing Ceremony (Kozen Daito + 4 Great Vows)

Day 3:

Opening Ceremony
5:00-5:30 AM PST (8:00-8:30 AM EST) (2:00-2:30 PM CET)

Break
5:30-5:45 AM PST (8:30-8:45 AM EST) (2:30-2:45 PM CET)

Practice Session 1: Zazen and Kinhin
5:45-7:00 AM (8:45-10:00 AM EST) (2:45-4:00 PM CET)

Break
7:00-8:00 AM PST (10:00-11:00 AM EST) (4:00-5:00 PM CET)

Study Session 1: Prof. Chris Ives (Zen Ethics)
8:00-9:10 AM PST (11 AM-12:10 PM EST) (5:00-6:10 PM CET)

Break
9:10-9:30 AM PST (12:10-12:30 PM EST) (6:10-6:30 PM CET)

Practice Session 2: Zazen and Kinhin
9:30-10:40 AM PST (12:30-1:40 PM) EST (6:30-7:40 PM CET)

Break
10:40-11:00 Am PST (1:40-2:00 PM EST) (7:40-8:00 PM CET)

Study Session 2: Rinzai Zen History in Japan
11 AM – 12:30 PM PST (2:00-3:30 PM EST) (8 -9:30 PM Central Europe Time)
Prof. Michel Mohr

Final Wrap Up Discussion:
1-2 PM PST (4-5 PM EST) (10-11PM CE

Times are tentative and subject to change.
Cost: $150

Register for the Seminar

Details

Start:
June 19 @ 7:30 am
End:
June 21 @ 2:00 pm
Cost:
$150

Organizer

MBZC
Phone:
909 985 6410
Email:
office@mbzc.org
Website:
www.mbzc.org